Where To Stay In County Kerry Reviews

County Kerry is a popular getaway vacation in Ireland for local and foreign tourists. A visit to Kerry is a magical experience that will make you want to return again and again.

It has an abundance of lakes and mountains as well as beautiful beaches and rocky shorelines and of course the people of Kerry always give visitors a warm welcome. 

But where are the very best and the most reasonable priced places to stay in?

Just browse down this page and your problem is solved.


The Dingle Peninsula


 Carn Ard Self Catering In Dingle Town

My husband, myself and two children have just come back from a week in Dingle February 12th. We were very fortunate with the weather, but even if the weather hadn't been great the house was so lovely we wouldn't have minded.

7 CARN ARD self catering was a beautiful house to stay in and would recommend it to anyone.

In the evenings after early doors (a couple of drinks in one of a wide range of pubs) in the town it was lovely to sit by the fire and have a read of some of the books on the history of dingle, its people, pubs and things to do. The owners have left a great selection on many subjects. There is Sky TV in two rooms downstairs and a bedroom upstairs, which kept the children entertained.

Dingle has something for all ages, from walking, dining, pubing, crafts, horse riding, beaches and surfing in the summer ( a bit chilly for surfing Feb)

The house is a home from home with a beautiful stylish finish and design. We couldn't have wanted anything more. We have stayed in Dingle before but this house was far superior to any we have previously rented.

The location is ideal, 5/10 minute downhill walk to town. 5 minutes walk brings you to Main Street where many of Dingles best pubs and restaurants are situated. This then leads you down to the harbour.

We ate out most days as there is such a wide assortment of restaurants and bars to choose from and to suit all pockets, but we also cooked a couple of evenings and found the kitchen was ideal to cook in and very well equipped. The kitchen table sits 8 and the kitchen bar sits 5 so if there was a larger family this house is perfect.

Fungi the dolphin is still splashing about in the bay. It's a wonderful sight. We went walking around the bay and couldn't believe we saw him. Next time we go we'll go out on the boat trips. It was a bit too windy in February for boating on the bay.

Will be back again next year if not before. Hopefully we will fit in a few days in the summer.

www.onegreatfamily.com

Milltown House

Milltown, Dingle, Ireland

We are telling local friends in West Cork to stay here when in Dingle. So we don't mind sharing this special place with other travellers. Other reviewers were spot on when they wrote of how friendly and comfortable their stay was here. Breakfast was especially good. Finally, they are sending on to me an item, left in the room, and will not hear of my sending postage! Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Sea view a possibility.

 

 

The rooms are very comfortable with lovely views over the bay. The breakfast is fantastic and the owners are super friendly and obliging. This was our second stay and we were not disappointed. A truly lovely place to stay in Dingle as Milltown House is tucked away just outside of the town in a perfectly tranquil location but close enough to get into town easily.

We love the unpretentious, relaxed and pet friendly attitude that ensures guests have a great stay in a comfortable family run home.

·         Stayed October 2014, travelled on business


“Glorious”


This house on the Dingle Peninsula is as welcoming and beautiful as any place I've ever been. Stephen and Seamus(the Irish Wolf Hound) make it so. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast is sublime. The bay is steps away and what a glorious view.

You have access to rustic pubs with spectacular traditional music and world class food. The town is relaxed and charming. It was an unexpected delight to be walking down the street and a group of horseback riders came trotting up the block.

My one regret is we couldn't stay longer.

“Simply Wonderful!!!”

I am a tour guide on Rick Steves' Best of Ireland tour. I first stayed here in September with a tour group when we booked out every room for 3 nights. All my group loved Milltown House! The welcome, breakfast and views are fantastic! Deirdre prepared tea and delicious scones for our arrival and immediately everyone felt at home. Of course Seamus the Irish Wolfhound was a big hit! Also it's a perfect location for the breathtaking Slea Head drive. We will definitely be back next spring.

Stayed September 2014, travelled on business

“excellent stay - would recommend”

My husband and I spent two very enjoyable nights at Milltown House. The location is great - dead on the water and close to Dingle town, but just far enough away to be wonderfully quiet. Stephen couldn't have been more welcoming, breakfast was delicious, and we were especially taken by Seamus, the Irish wolf hound - truly a gentle giant! All in all, an excellent experience and one I would highly recommend.

“Fabulous Setting and Hospitality!”

We stayed at the Milltown House for three nights in September! Deidre and Stephen were great hosts. Great breakfasts and it was nice having the bar downstairs for a Dingle Gin and tonic! The setting is spectaular, right on Dingle Bay! Great birdwatching right in front of Milltown House! I went to sleep every night listening to the Curlews cry! We had a very nice room with a window view of the Dingle Bay. Nice sized room and bathroom with coffee and tea maker in the room. Our morning breakfasts in the conservatory were delicious. Loved the smoked salmon and delicious scones for breakfast! All the staff were friendly and helpful. The walk to town helped burn off our delicious meals and all that Guinness! Dingle is a great town and the Milltown House is a just place to stay when you are there!

“Outstanding”

We spent 3 nights at Milltown House. The facilities, staff and food were outstanding. A short stretch of the legs into Dingle with magnificent views of the harbor and town and as a bonus you get to meet Sheamus.

“Its location makes it a good choice.”

The biggest asset of Milltown House is its location. It has a lovely position within a short walk or drive of Dingle with all its amenities. The views are fabulous & as it's slightly away from the centre of town it is very quiet at night for sleeping.
Our room was very big with a great view & large bathroom. The bed was huge & extremely comfortable. I was disappointed on the state of decoration. Sadly the décor was worn (especially carpets, curtains, blinds) and the furniture an odd mix of antique/old style & outdated modern. Personally I would enhance the period feel of the house & use antique/collectable pieces where possible. Strangely we also did not receive any housekeeping for our 3 night stay. We are not untidy so it was not a big deal but the bins weren't emptied & our coffee supplies & toiletries not replaced. They were very busy so maybe it just got overlooked. 
The breakfasts were amazing. They provided an extensive selection of both hot & cold food with a strong emphasis on home made delicious baked goodies. 
Overall it is a lovely house in a great location with fabulous food but I think that for €150/night the décor & service could be improved. I believe the house has newish owners so perhaps these are just teething issues.

“wonderful milltown house”

Reviewed 24 September 2014

superb b and b--historic- comfortable --clean and the food was amazing--well run and i hear they have a cookbook coming out--could not find fault with anything at the inn--the brown bread all over ireland was great but deidre's was far the best

“Wonderful B&B in a beautiful part of Ireland”

Reviewed 23 September 2014

It's hard to say something that hasn't already been said about Milltown House. This is a simply a great place to stay in Dingle. Beautiful setting, nice rooms, wonderful breakfasts, great hospitality from Stephen, Dierdre and all of the folks at Milltown. Oh, and let's not forget Seamus the wolfhound. I look forward to returning on my next trip to Ireland.

 

Pax Guest House

Upper John St, Dingle, Ireland 

Breathtaking Views of the Bay”

 

My wife and I stayed 1 night at Pax while traveling through Ireland in May 2014 (bit tardy on the review). Although we only stayed the one night and I don't feel we got the "complete" experience, I would still highly recommend staying there. First off, the views are amazing. We enjoyed relaxing with a coffee and taking in the views from the terrace - simply spectacular. The walk to town was reasonable as well - only about 10 or 15 minutes. Jon upgraded us to a sea view room at no charge, which we very much appreciated. Our only regret was not staying longer here and in Dingle. Don't make our mistake - stay two nights and enjoy this quaint, picturesque fishing village

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple

West Palm Beach, Florida

Contributor

 

“Fabulous bed and breakfast!”

 

What a fabulous bed and breakfast! John is the ultimate host and chef. Our room was large and comfy with a beautiful view of the country side and water. The lounge area was a perfectly relaxing area to play with Rio the dog and meet other travelers. His breakfasts were the best we had in Ireland. No other scones came close to John's homemade ones. Also, the added extra touches like water bottles in the room, nightly Irish cream and candy at bed turn down, and afternoon tea and cookies were exceptional. We highly recommend the Pax house for anyone passing through Dingle. You will feel like family when you leave. Thank you John.

Room Tip: I believe that any room is great. Ours on the lower level with walkout patio was exceptionally larg...

See more room tips

·         Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

“Fantastic”

 

Had a wonderful stay at Pax recently, where we arrived late in the evening past dark but were greeted with a smile by John, who even called the pubs/restaurants in town to make sure they were serving food and offered to drive us down there if we planned on going to the pubs afterwards since it is a bit of a walk. The next morning when we saw the gorgeous view (complete with the best rainbow we saw our whole trip) we were even more impressed. The breakfast was phenomenal and the best that we had over the entire week we spent in the country. The entire staff was amazingly friendly and knew the names of all of the guests. Would definitely recommend Pax!

·         Stayed October 2014, travelled with friends

 

“Planning an annual visit!”

 

This was my second visit to Pax. The first visit, it felt like home. The second visit, it felt like coming home. I was in much need of rest and peaceful, safe surroundings. John and his staff are highly intuitive and good at reading what people and anticipating what they need (and don't need!). They certainly read me well. I experienced great warmth and kindness there. In fact, I opted to stay a third night. I plan to stay again.

Room Tip: I enjoyed staying in a classic non sea view room. I didn't feel the need to have a sea view from...

See more room tips

·         Stayed October 2014, travelled solo

 

“Five star service, but not prices”

Reviewed 1 week agoNEW

From the greeting we received upon our arrival, to the moment of departure, we were treated like royalty. The proprietress greeted us with a really warm welcome and complimentary coffee, the room was fantastic and the views to die for.Beds turned down every night, a breakfast offering that could not be bettered by a top Hotel, local and fresh produce, and daily advice with printed directions for every guest on places to visit, and personal advice on Restaurants locally.
Dingle is a dream place to visit, a fairy tale bay, with its own resident Dolphin, all the locals are helpful and friendly, and all the local bars,pubs and restaurants serve Guiness as it should be served.Pax House is a home from home, and I cannot wait to return next year, add to that the resident cat and Dog, I think my partner spent more time with them than me, do not miss out

Room Tip: All accommodation is of a first class standard, but do ask for a Sea view

See more room tips

·         Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

 

 “All style but substance lacking in parts!”

We got a sea view room which was very comfortable. It was a good start to our stay. 

The breakfast was very disappointing. We got one piece of toast each and after asking twice (over a prolonged period of time), we got no more. When we asked the waitress- she exclaimed "you want more" as though it was an odd request.
We both ordered the special dish which included one egg and approximately 3cm X 5cm of smoked salmon. We tend to eat a light breakfast but this was just a mean portion. There was no coffee at the buffet so we asked for some more and it never came either.

The second morning was better but still disappointing. We won't be back and we are very regular visitors to the area. I am shocked that this place is rated so highly on tripadvisor.

Room Tip: definitely sea view

See more room tips

·         Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple

 

 

Don't Bother Staying Anywhere Else”

 

We have stayed in B&B's throughout Europe for many years and I can honestly say that this was among the top 2 or 3 ever. No need to blather on. All the other reviewers have said it already. As if the view were not enough, the food, the rooms, the location. But wait, there's more.....

Hats off to John for treating arrivals as if they were the first guests to ever stay there, asking him the same stupid questions. He is one in a million. Do not miss staying at this place.

·         Stayed October 2014, travelled on business

 

“Only place to stay in Dingle!”

 

There's not much more you can say about the Pax House that hasn't already been said! My husband and I had an unforgettable experience at the Pax House and in Dingle. Although everything was exceptional, two things put this place above and beyond all else; the attention to detail and wonderful service the owner John and his lovely staff provided, and the beautiful location and view of this property. John made us feel welcomed and right at home - I have never been treated so well at any other property. Our room was emmaculate, with fresh flowers on the nightstand. The breakfast each morning was incredible - the food was fresh, delicious, and presented beautifully - the breakfast staff knew us by name without even meeting us yet! John also knew we were vegetarians and ensured we had plenty of options. It is just a quick walk into town or there are car parks at the bottom if you prefer to drive. John even offered to drive guests to town. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer! Thank you to John, Rio, and the wonderful staff for an amazing few days. We miss you already!

Room Tip: Book a double sea view room with patio. There's nothing better than sitting outside on the pati...

See more room tips

·         Stayed September 2014, travelled as a  63 reviews

 

When is a guesthouse not a guesthouse?”

 

I'll tell you when! When it's Pax Guest House. I'm not sure how to describe the experience we had last weekend. We arrived in the pouring rain to be greeted by a smiling John who sat us down and gave us tea and coffee in the beautiful sun room and although there was no sun the cosy atmosphere and interesting painting and sculpture around the place soon soothed us. John reserved us a restaurant and then drove us down there! Part collector, part humorous host, inspired breakfast creator we are full of ideas for tasty breakfast treats. Read some of the other reviews no joke this is as good as it gets. ( By the way the rain cleared and we had a fantastic day the following day around Slea Head which is as good as it gets for seascapes ! ) Can't wait to go back. My kids reckon that this was the first proper 4 star place they were ever in .. anywhere!

Room Tip: I'd say all the room are good but south side has the views.

 

“Pax House - An Ambience Filled with Unexpected Pleasures”

 

What is the difference between average and extraordinary? 
Presentation...presentation...presentation.

John o'farrell has created a house much like Alice's Wonderland overlooking Dingle Bay.
It's an abode filled with whimsy with the comfort meter set on high. Aesthetic artwork, a basket overflowing with layers of jewel-toned mohair throws, tea served in china cups like grand-mother's with a bird shaped tea strainer housed in a cage. Warmed thick towels, fluffy duvets and a goodnight sip of Bailey's on your bedside.

Delightful rabbits caught in a dance of joy on the lawn.

In the lounge sink into one of the overstuffed chairs and visit with other guests reviewing your day's activities or plan the next day's adventures. Sit on the balcony mesmerized by the view that takes your eye cross the stonewall-sectioned fields to Dingle Bay with its traffic of boats going to and from the sea. Read, relax, dream... this is a haven that offers the respite we all look for when we journey.

Breakfast is a feast with mouth watering scones dusted with sugar served with clotted cream and jam. Breakfast fruits flavored with ginger and cinnamon. Swan-shaped plates laden with flower-festooned omelets. Soft cooked eggs kept warm by tiny wool sweaters. Yogurt, walnuts and fruit layered in miniature glasses. Pancakes, filled with bananas and berries, dusted with sugar and topped with a feather-like-flower that imitates a jaunty summer hat. And oh those Irish sausage.

Being a good host is taking care of your guests and their well being. That is exactly what John does. He knows everyone by first name and once you have a reservation he gives precise directions to Dingle (with alternate route depending on the weather), tips on driving in Ireland, and responds to any of your concerns. He provides umbrellas, safety vests & flashlights for walking to town, and iced tea for a thirsty Texan. He is the ultimate host who has surrounded himself with a most friendly staff who makes sure your visit is warm and welcoming.

Last but not least is Rio, the resident dog, friendly-yet aloof, overseas the comings and goings, can always find a willing guest to toss his ball off the balcony to him and who I think is the real muse behind the organization.

I could tell you much more but will let you be delighted by the little things I didn't mention. One word of advice...do stay more than one night...we stayed three and could have stayed longer.

 

Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast

The Wood, Dingle KY066, Ireland 

Hotel amenities

Almost perfect, except for the snoring neighbour :(”

Owner Kathleen will make you feel at home the moment you arrive. The B&B is a 5 minute walk away from the town centre, which is perfect if you like peace and quiet. 

The room we chose was facing the bay which was a plus in the mornings. Room was comfortable and had all you'd need (except shampoo, but no one is complaining) and Wifi worked perfectly. 

The only negative thing I can say is that one of the nights it was difficult to sleep because a guest in the next room had a really loud snore, kept me awake for a few hours. So please, if you're a loud snorer I'd suggest choosing another place to stay, be nice to other guests :)

Room Tip: choose a room facing the water.

See more room tips

·         Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

 

“Quick stay”

 

had a very nice stay at Harbor Nights. Kathlean was so nice. Clean and rooms. Nice breakfast in morning. Nice price. Great location. Would definitely stay there again. Kathlean even gave us a ride to the Courthouse Pub in nasty weather.

Stayed October 2014, travelled as a couple

 

“Food & Drink Festival Weekend”

 

Another fabulous weekend, apart from the weather! Kathleen & the whole team are really welcoming & helpful. A small glitch the morning we were leaving meant no hot water for a shower, this was quickly rectified! The nightlife concentrates on live music and is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear facing room, these have balconies overlooking the bay! Room 14 is a triple & very...

 

“Home away from home”

 

We were two couples travelling together and this was a memorable experience in our journey. We were easily within walking distance to the town, and our rooms were very comfortable. Plenty of parking in the rear and very picturesque location on the harbour. The owner, Kathleen, was the embodiment of the energizer bunny; running around making sure that everyone was being cared for. The breakfast was also superb and the lounge great. I would recommend this home to anyone who is visiting Dingle.

Room Tip: Given a choice, I prefer the harbour view.

See more room tips

Stayed September 2014, travelled with

 

 

“Stay here when you are in Dingle!”

 

The water views are amazing, the location fantastic, the food delicious but what really makes this place great is Kathleen and her family and staff! My Mom and I felt welcomed here from the moment we walked in the door. It is obvious Kathleen and her crew spend a lot of time paying attention to details in an effort to make their guests happy and comfortable. The rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The lounge room had comfortable chairs and couches and a great view of the peninsula. The walk to restaurants, pubs, shops and great music at night was easy and safe. We only wish we had more time to spend in Dingle!

Stayed September 2014, travelled with family

 

“Charming hostess”

 

Kathleen, the hostess, was most charming and helpful. The room was very clean and the decor pleasant. The breakfasts were great and Kathleen was happy to provide whatever was wanted. The location looking over the water was perfect and the B&B was close to the town and restaurants. There was also ample on site parking and free wifi, which in my experience is always a plus.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the water.

 

“Very personable host”

 

We arrived later in the evening but Kathleen was very welcoming. She made a point of learning our first names and remembered them every time she saw us over the next 2 days. The B&B is impeccably clean. Kathleen asked each evening what we wanted for breakfast the following morning, anything from a standard continental breakfast to a full Irish breakfast. We loved the hotel and Dingle.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple

Looking for somewhere to stay in Dingle which is comfortable, will give you a good night's sleep, great value, terrific service, great food, friendliness but unobtrusive, highly recommend Harbour Nights. It was everything we hoped for and more. Kathlean greeted us (a group of 8), made us feel very welcome asked our Christian names and never forgot any of them once, so personal and felt very "at home away from home". Kathleen has a lovely family who all helped out and were equally as friendly as was Buddy, their beautiful dog. This guest house is located near the town so there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Thankyou Kathlean for making this special occasion go so well. We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in bedrooms overlooking the harbour, picturesque and quiet.

 

“Jock's 70th birthday event”

 

We have recently had a few days in Dingle at this hotel to celebrate our dear friend Jock's 70th birthday. It was absolutely fantastic. I have a back problem and Kathleen couldn't do enough for me along with medication I had to take. She was so very helpful. The breakfasts were very good as were the rooms. Very comfortable and great views. Such a friendly atmosphere really to be highly recommended. We had a fabulous holiday and staying at Harbour Nights helped a great deal. Thank you Kathleen.

Room Tip: all the back rooms had spectacular views

See more room tips

·         Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends

 

“Brilliant”

 

Very warm welcome when our party of 8 arrived. Fab rooms with amazing views over the sea and harbour. Rooms very comfortable and well furnished. Very clean and a great power shower.

The guest house is located in an ideal position on the edge of the town, so it is a very short walk to the many shops bars and restaurants with the advantage of a peaceful night's sleep.

Breakfasts were excellent; buffet cereals, fruit etc. followed by a very nice full Irish with very good friendly service.

The whole atmosphere of the guest house was one of family friendly we all felt we were home from home. We will be definitely be going back to Dingle and will be staying at Harbour Nights

Room Tip: Sea view is outstanding

See more room tips

·         Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends