Search County Kerry

GAELIC FOOTBALL: ALL-IRELAND SEMI FINAL: Kerry v Meath: I knew I'd got it wrong after just ten minutes but now I know Meath will take Sam home; SO-CALLED CLASSIC WAS MASSIVE ANTI-CLIMAX.(Sport) Byline: Brian Stynes

Meath is a great county and they have won an All Ireland or 2, I think. I know they have won one!!

But their greatest victory was when they beat Kerry by 15 points back in 2001.

That was in the semi final

I DON'T mind admitting I got that one horribly wrong. Before the game I thought Kerry would go through to the All-Ireland final, but after just 10 minutes of the match you could see they had no answer to Meath.

It was a vintage Meath performance, and they never gave Kerry a sniff throughout the game.

Mike Frank Russell was the only Kerry forward playing well, and even he hadn't a second to settle on the ball. Darren Fay was immense at full-back for Meath, and Mark O'Reilly completely snuffed out Johnny Crowley.

Up front for Meath Ollie Murphy was brilliant again. It's just the way he wins ball that's so impressive. Much of the supply going into him …

But to win The Kerry Cup You Have To Go All The Way

2001 Old system semi-finals: Roscommon v Tyrone; Meath v Kerry. Actual semi-finals: Galway v Derry; Meath v Kerry. A strong Roscommon team had beaten Galway and Mayo in Connacht but ran into a much-improved Galway in the All-Ireland quarter-final. The same happened to Tyrone, who beat Derry in Ulster but lost the rematch.

Tyrone v Roscommon would have been a close semi-final with Tyrone the marginal fancies. Kerry and Meath won their provincial titles and clashed in the All-Ireland semi-final. Meath won easily but were demolished by Galway in the final leaving Gary Fahey (below) to lift the Sam Maguire.

Under the old system, it would have probably have been a Meath-Tyrone final with the Royals' experience prevailing.

Likely final (under old system): Meath v Tyrone.

Likely winners: Meath.

Actual final: Galway v Meath.

Actual winners: Galway.

The Meath County Board of the Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) (Irish: Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Coiste Na Mí) or Meath GAA is one of the 32 county boards of the GAA in Ireland, and is responsible for Gaelic games in County Meath, as well as for Meath inter-county teams. Contents[hide]· 1 Gaelic football o 1.1 Pre 1960's o 1.2 1960's and 1970's o 1.3 The Boylan Years - the 1980's o 1.4 1991 Championship o 1.5 1994-1998 - A New Era o 1.6 1999 o 1.7 2001 o 1.8 2002-2005 - Boylan's Latter Years o 1.9 2006 - present o 1.10 2010 Leinster Football Final o 1.11 Honours o 1.12 Notable Managers o 1.13 Meath Football Squad o 1.14 Former Players · 2 Hurling o 2.1 Honours · 3 Camogie · 4 Clubs o 4.1 Senior Football Championship o 4.2 Intermediate Football Championship o 4.3 Junior Football Championship · 5 Ladies' Gaelic football o 5.1 Honours · 6 See also · 7 References · 8 External links

Meath V Kerry